Identity Crisis – a one act play

Yes we have no eyes… yet.

Scene: A puppet laying on a shelf in a sunny room with cowboys roping steers on the wall, repeating themselves, never completing the job.  A twin bed positions itself next to a window which shows a tree filled back yard.  In the distance we hear children laughing which fades out.

Puppet:  I just don’t know

Voice:  What don’t you know?

Puppet: Who was that?  I thought I was the only one here!

Voice:  Well obviously you thought wrong.

Puppet:  You didn’t answer me.  Who are you?

Voice:  I’m a dog puppet.  I got left in the corner with the dust bunnies.

Puppet:  That’s what I don’t know.

Dog Puppet: What is it that you don’t know?  I mean what is that, what you don’t know?

Puppet:  You are confusing me.

Dog Puppet:  I think you are already confused.

Puppet: What I don’t know is: what am I?

Dog Puppet:  You don’t know what you are?  That sounds crazy.

Puppet:  That is not helpful.  I can’t help being this way.  You sound so sure of yourself so you must know that you are a dog puppet.  How do you know that?

Dog Puppet:  Well, when my owner puts me on his hand, he barks and whines, just like that 4 legged creature that scares me by dragging me out in the living room.  I’m sure I don’t look as nice as I did when I was made.

Puppet:  That’s just it!  I’ve never seen anything that looks like me.

Dog Puppet:  Well describe yourself, maybe I can help.

Puppet:  Well, I have green stripes, a mouth with a red tongue and some protruding eyebrows.

Dog Puppet: I’m trying to picture you.  I don’t think I have ever seen a creature that looks like you.  What does your owner do when he puts you on?

Puppet:  That’s part of the problem.  Sometimes he makes a hissing sound and sometimes he croaks.  It is just too confusing.

Dog Puppet:  Oh, I see your problem.  You are having an identity crisis.  You don’t know if you are a snake or a frog.  It’s not your fault if your owner can’t decide.

Puppet: It isn’t my fault?  That’s a wonderful way to look at it.  Thank you!

Dog Puppet:  You’re welcome.  I don’t know if I solved your problem.

Puppet:  Well now that I know it isn’t my fault, I think I can just be whatever my owner wants me to be.  Right now, for myself, I’m feeling a bit scaly so I’ll call myself a snake.

Dog Puppet:  Cool!  Maybe I could try another identity but I have these floppy ears and a tail.  What else has floppy ears and a tail?  Gosh, I can’t think of something, can you?  I want to be like you and get to be something different when I feel like it.

Puppet:  You know I don’t think there is another animal with floppy ears.  I think you may be stuck with being a dog puppet.

Dog Puppet:  Well that sucks!

Puppet:  I’m sorry for you.

Just then the door opens with a bang and 2 children come into the room.  One of them grabs up the dog puppet and starts barking.  The second one grabs up the other puppet and starts hopping around the room.

Leave a comment