Dodging Dogma

2012-10-17-11-19-57.jpg

Am I Alone?

Almost every morning, I start my day with a cup of coffee, a cheap Staples notebook and a favorite pen.  I start writing and most days a complaint about a situation comes into my mind and out on the page.  It has a physical sensation of ‘not good.’  So I ask myself some questions around it.  This process has roots back to Byron Katie and her Work.  It starts with questioning the validity, asks how I react when believing it, then who am I without this belief.  I have done this hundreds of times since finding Katie and her process.  While working on either: with or without the belief, I experience a moment which is a light bulb appearing in the darker recesses of my mind.  It all seems perfectly innocent and good, and then….

Dogma happens.  It’s this mind grabbing onto the ‘new’ fact and making something of it.  A new mantra, a new way of living, gotta share it: ‘you just have to hear what I just found out.’  ‘Danger Will Robinson’ (envision the robot waving his expandable arms)  Where is it?  What is the danger?  OK, to me it isn’t the experience, it’s the need to make something of it which is about past (the experience) and future (a new way of being).  It’s mind not wanting or not being able to just be with it. It’s comparing me and my way with you and your way.  (If you only knew what I know, you would be SO much better off)  Silly mind, tricks are for… well, not kids but minds.  Nothing horrible here just mind being.. mind.  The only sad part is when action happens out of dogma.  There are tendrils of Truth, just enough to justify the beginning AND beware (be aware) of where it takes me/you.

Leave a comment