Celebration of Below Zero (F)

ImageI may be officially crazy or just stunned by cold but I celebrated what I believe to be our last below zero morning.  It was only slightly below zero yet cold enough to feel it seeping into the gloves, capturing the exposed nose and making the snow solid enough to walk on top.  I tried to take it in for use when it is 90, with bugs biting and sweat trickling down my back.  

I’m not sure it ever works and I still notice I do this, try to play the frozen winter against the steamy summer, hoping to end up with a nice temperate spring or fall.  It is so easy to fall into a complaint about what weather brings me and yet it seems to be the first thing that I have learned to accept with my possible change in consciousness.  Complaining about the weather, while very popular and a great conversation starter, doesn’t cause it to change.  Weather is what it is.  Can’t even take it or leave it, just experience it.  To some it might seem heartless, to me it is refreshing to have something that just is what it is, not worried about my opinion at all.

So just like menopause, which is only officially declared after a certain time period has passed, I am saying this is my last below zero morning for the winter of 2013/2014.  And I get to see what weather has to say about that.

 

Leave a comment