Confession: Good for the Soul?

Pip 7 years after his adventureWorking on my daily investigation into my thoughts started with writing about the time when my Sheltie, Pip was lost.  I noticed a need to thank the people who helped me.  Not that it was a bad thing to do, it’s the push to do it; a little bit of neediness that I looked into this morning.

What I found behind it was the belief I was a bad owner.  It is totally true that I did not have Pip on a leash.  What I get for making myself a bad owner is I get to confess to God and now to you.  Somehow I find that confessing let’s me off the hook.

When I confess, my mind goes, OK that’s over.  I’ve let it out, let’s move on.  However, it doesn’t get to the reason why I let my dog run free.  In looking at this, I might change how I act in the future.  So I let him run free because I think he likes it, he seems happy.  I let him run free because it’s easier then tying him up.  I let him run free because I don’t want to hear him barking if I tie him up.  Now those are real concrete reasons I let him run free.  This is Truth speaking, at least it feels more like Truth then just saying I am a bad owner.  When I confess to you that I am a bad owner, I make it your job to forgive me.  If I look into my actions and my beliefs that cause my actions, I get closer to the truth and I can let go of the guilt which can allow me to be at peace.

I don’t know if I will or won’t let me dog off the leash in the future.  It feels like a more informed decision after this ‘confession.’  I won’t be a mindless owner turning into a guilty owner.  And we will see.

Wise words from my teacher:  100% responsibility (for my part) = 0% guilt and 0% blame

2 thoughts on “Confession: Good for the Soul?

  1. sharikaybangsund

    Very beautifull dog! Back in Two Harbors we always let our dog out the front door to do her “business”. It was a small town, and she was never gone long….and she made a few friends along the way. I used to take her with me on my paper route in the mornings “off leash”. 🙂

    Reply
    1. mousetounmouse Post author

      If he hadn’t of ended up on a state road, got picked up and brought to a strange house where he escaped and learned to avoid capture; he could have made it back home. My thought is off leash works, until they don’t come home. Maybe it’s never, maybe it’s in 15 minutes. Doesn’t mean I don’t like seeing them free.

      Reply

Leave a comment